Tags

, , , , , , ,

All of my life I have wanted to find something I was passionate about. I wanted to find it before I knew what it truly meant to be passionate about something. I had dabbled in many things growing up: violin, dance (tap, hip hop, jazz, ballet), ice skating, basketball, drawing, percussion, piano, writing jingles (yeah, for advertisement), gymnastics, cheerleading, math club (i’m asian after all), and a bunch of other things not even worth mentioning. 

I was always frustrated. I thought I was fairly decent at a lot of these things, without much practice. However, because I didn’t find anything to focus on, I never became really good at any one thing. I wanted to find that one thing. I thought this would be my passion, and that I would be happy when I found it. I thought something was wrong with me, and I was a little mad at my mom, thinking it was her fault for not pushing me towards one thing. 

As I got older I found that I liked photography. A lot. I liked capturing the beauty and personalities of people. I have become more and more reserved in some ways as the years have gone by, but I love human connection, and I felt that I could experience this with photography. 

School was my main focus in life. Always. So I let photography slide to the side just as I was really starting to love it. Then, just a few months ago, I took a ceramics class. I had completed all of my requirements for my Bachelor’s degree in Psychology and simply needed 13 more hours in order to graduate. I decided to take a class that was just for fun, for once. 

Little did I know that this was it. I found it! I went to my ceramics studio once a week for class from 5-9. Soon I started getting there at 3 and staying until 10 (half hour after I should’ve left, to the dismay of the building workers). Towards the end of the semester I went in multiple times a week and hours flew by as I made ceramics. I brought some tools home and made a few extra things there. 

Things always happen when you least expect them. I think I am finding this to be more and more true with each day that passes. I was banking my childhood happiness on finding a passion, and I had to wait to find it until now, somewhat of a “grown up.” 

I love ceramics. I would give a lot to spend my days making ceramics and making a living off them. I can imagine my creativity flowing from my hands as I have a conversation with the clay that lasts until I am old and grey. I hope that I can continue to learn and grow in artistic ability. It is my goal to practice and hopefully sell some of the pieces I have made later on this year. 

I still love other forms of art. Photography and watercolors are fun for me and I hope to grow in those areas as well. I just wanted to document this part in my life when I’ve just discovered something I love so much before it truly becomes a major part of my life. 

